Minutes - June 24, 2021

A meeting of the State Securities Board was held remotely on June 24, 2021, via telephone conference call, as authorized under the Texas Government Code, section 551.125, and Governor Abbott’s temporary suspension of certain provisions of the Texas Open Meetings Act requiring government officials and members of the public to be physically present at a specified meeting location.

Those present were: E. Wally Kinney, Chair; Member; Kenny Koncaba, Member; Robert Belt, Member; Melissa Tyroch, Member; Ejike E. Opka II, Member; Travis J. Iles, Securities Commissioner; Clinton Edgar, Deputy Commissioner; Tommy Green, Director, Inspections and Compliance Division; Derek Lauterjung, Director Staff Services Division; Joseph J. Rotunda, Director, Enforcement Division; Marlene K. Sparkman, General Counsel; Emily Diaz, Assistant Director, Registration Division; Tina Lawrence, Assistant Director, Enforcement Division; Misty Smith, Assistant Director, Staff Services Division; Shaun Yarroll, Assistant Director, Registration Division; Cheryn Netz, Assistant General Counsel; Robin Brady, IT, Staff Services Division; Cristi Ochoa, Attorney, Inspections and Compliance Division; Wesley Ogilvie, Attorney, General Counsel Division; and Sonia Fergerson, Executive Assistant.  Also attending were Kim Lopez-Gonzales, Chica Cherry, and Christopher Smith.

Chair Kinney called the meeting to order at 10:08 a.m.

Minutes of the May 20, 2021, meeting were approved.

After discussion and a recommendation of the Audit Committee, the Board voted to approve the internal audit plan for fiscal year 2021 prepared by Garza/Gonzalez & Associates.

Chair Kinney noted that Member Opka cannot yet vote on items requiring Board approval, as he has not completed all of the mandatory board member training.

The Commissioner provided an update on the conclusion of the 87th Legislative Regular Session, including the Agency’s appropriations for the next biennium.

The Commissioner gave a general update on Agency operations.

The meeting was then adjourned at 10:58 a.m.