Minutes - August 1, 2017

A meeting of the State Securities Board was held on August 1, 2017, in Room 320, Thomas Jefferson Rusk State Office Building, at 9:00 a.m. Those present were: Beth Ann Blackwood, Chair; E. Wally Kinney, Member; David A. Appleby, Member; G. Alan Waldrop, Member; Miguel Romano, Jr., Member; John Morgan, Securities Commissioner; Travis Iles, Deputy Commissioner; Joseph Rotunda, Director, Enforcement Division; Marlene K. Sparkman, General Counsel; and Sonia Fergerson, Executive Assistant.

Chair Blackwood called the meeting to order at 9:30 a.m.

Minutes of the January 24, 2017, meeting were approved.

The Board retired to Executive Session at 9:32 a.m. to interview candidates for the position of Securities Commissioner pursuant to the exception granted by Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code, Open Meetings Act, which allows the Board to deliberate the appointment of a public officer or employee.

Following the Executive Session, the Board reconvened the Open Meeting at 11:26 a.m.

The Board voted to select and appoint Travis Iles as the new Securities Commissioner to begin serving on September 1, 2017, following the retirement of John Morgan as Securities Commissioner.

The position of Securities Commissioner was offered to and accepted by Mr. Iles.

The meeting was then adjourned.